Sign up For DC 37 News


2019 News Releases

January 23, 2019

Rudy Orozco
Tel. (212) 815-1538
Cell (646) 823-5934

Union announces election results

Executive Director Henry Garrido re-elected; Local 372’s Shaun Francois I is new president of DC 37

Executive Director Henry Garrido was overwhelmingly elected to a second, three-year term by DC 37 delegates on January 22.

Shaun D. Francois I, president of Dept. of Education Employees Local 372, defeated incumbent DC 37 President Eddie Rodriguez, long-time president of Clerical Administrative Employees Local 1549. Maf Misbah Uddin, president of Local 1407, was re-elected Treasurer. Secretary Deborah Pitts, president of Finance Administrative Employees and City Investigators Local 1113, was re-elected without opposition.

Local 384 member Debbie Lane, chair of the DC 37 Election Committee, announced the results at about 11 p.m. and swore in the winners.

Executive Board members who were either elected or re-elected are (all are presidents of their local unions unless otherwise noted):

Anthony Wells, Social Service Employees Union Local 371
Donald Nesbit, executive vice president of Local 372
Carmen Charles, Municipal Hospital Employees Local 420
Alma Roper, executive vice president of Local 1549
Dishunta Meredith, College Assistants Local 2054
Judith Arroyo, United Federation of Nurses and Epidemiologists Local 436
Ronaldo Barber, Brooklyn Library Guild 1482
Dilcy Benn, Attendants, Park Service Workers, City Parkers & Debris Removers Local 1505
Valentin Colon, New York Public Library Local 1930
Mike DeMarco, Traffic Employees Local 1455
Gene DeMartino, Construction Laborers, Highway Repairers and Watershed Maintainers Local 376
Juan Fernandez, Amalgamated Professional Employees Local 154
John Hyslop, Queens Library Guild Local 1321
Dennis Ifill, Rent Regulation Services Employees Local 1359
Laura Morand, Electronic Data Processing Employees Local 2627
Eric Latson, Custodial Assistant Employees Local 1597
Jeff Oshins, Local Health Dept. Technical Professional Employees 3005
Joseph Puleo, Motor Vehicle Operators Local 983
Fitz Reid, Health Services Employees Local 768
Magaly Rosario, Metropolitan Transportation Authority Clerical-Administrative Employees Local 1655
Fausto Sabatino, Court, County and Dept. of Probation Employees Local 1070
Peter Stein, Lifeguard Supervisors Local 508;
James Tucciarelli, Sewage Treatment and Sr. Sewage Treatment Workers Local 1320
Esther Sandy Tucker, City University of New York and Educational Opportunity Centers Local 384
Vincent Variale, Uniformed EMS Officers Local 362

Under Garrido’s leadership, the union settled a city-wide contract agreement, pushed for legislation to protect public sector unions, supported universal free school lunch, fought for additional funding for NYC’s public hospitals and schools, and initiated one of the most extensive organizing drives in the union’s history.

“During the past three years, we have confronted numerous challenges, including the U.S. Supreme Court’s adverse ruling on the Janus case,” Garrido said. “Together, we are overcoming them. I am grateful for the support of the membership and look forward to continue working with a deeply committed leadership team.”

The American Arbitration Association monitored the election and tabulated the vote.

District Council 37 is New York City's largest public employee union, with 125,000 members and 50,000 retirees.